GAME: The Final Countdown – 83 days of 88…

…remote corners where farmers and small local families huddle.

I’m just a few days away from completing the 88 days of regional work and it feels so good! But some how a little bitter-sweet. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this farm lark but I’ve got more from it than I first imagined. I now know what it means when a moo-moo starts mooing! (They’re calling their calves) and I’m very aware of the scope of insects and wild animals Australia has to offer, yesterday a guana casually strolled past the house, but it ran up the tree because it was scared– despite its sharp claws and ability to bite through bone…

 Here’s Zeus:

Image

3 months has whizzed banged by and I’m glad Australia has this system to get you out of the coastal path into the remote corners where farmers and small local families huddle. Places I would otherwise have skipped merrily past and as my Grandpa wistfully pointed out “the cities are all by the coast because there’s nothing in the middle” too true Grandpa, but it turns out there is something on the fringe of the middle, crazy nuggets of people and ways of life.

I now know what it means when a moo-moo starts mooing!

The plan now is to party a little in Byron Bay before scooting South to Sydney to put some dollar in the bank and hopefully find a Spanish intercambio class – si, si! My first impressions of Byron were that it’s a bit of a generic beach side town, overcrowded with no actual Australians. Hmmf! But in saying that, everyone I’ve spoken to LOVES Byron and I feel there is more to discover (and more rum to drink), so I shall get on my bike and explore the place a little more before making such hasty assumptions.

To the notorious Byron Bay, see you soon!

Leave a Reply

